Vanguard Releases Sweet Relief III Benefit Album


Sweet Relief III aids musiciansVanguard Records’ Sweet Relief III:  Pennies From Heaven is the third compilation featuring new recordings by artists including Ben Harper, Jackson Browne, Shelby Lynne, Victoria Williams, Ron Sexsmith, Rickie Lee Jones, and others in support of the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund, which provides financial assistance to all career musicians struggling while facing illness, disability, or age-related problems.

Each of the artists on Sweet Relief III chose songs with a theme of support and assistance such as “If I Needed You” (Joseph Arthur), “How Did You Find Me Here?” (k.d.  lang), “King of the Road” (She & Him), “Crazy Love” (Ben Harper), “Change is Gonna Come” (Victoria Williams) and “Big Spender” (Sam Phillips) and more.

“Making this record for Sweet Relief has been such a great experience,” said producer Sheldon Gomberg. ‘I got to work with all these fantastic artists, while giving something back to the music community that has been so good to me over the years.”

The recording commemorates the 20th anniversary of the first Sweet Relief release, A Benefit for Victoria Williams, which was inspired by Williams, who founded the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund after being diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. That collection and the subsequent Sweet Relief II: Gravity of the Situation – The Songs of Vic Chesnutt included contributions from artists like R.E.M., Pearl Jam, Indigo Girls, Garbage, Smashing Pumpkins, Cracker, Dog’s Eye View, Live, Lou Reed, The Jayhawks, Lucinda Williams, Soul Asylum, and more.

Sweet Relief III: Pennies from Heaven features cover design by acclaimed artist Peter Max.  To learn more about the Sweet Relief Musicians Fund visit

No posts to display