Gov’t Mule to Release Mulennium

December 31, 1999 ushered in a new century and millennium and called for something truly magical – and that night’s Gov’t Mule show at Atlanta’s historic Roxy Theatre delivered it. What made this New Years Eve show so extraordinary? For starters, Little Milton, one of Warren Haynes’ most important influences, joins Gov’t Mule for six songs including "I Can’t Quit You Baby" and "It Hurts Me Too." <em>Mulennium</em> also marks the 10th anniversary of Allen Woody’s death and is the first official release featuring the original Gov’t Mule trio issued since his passing.

<em>Mulennium</em> features Gov’t Mule’s original lineup – Warren Haynes on guitar, Matt Abts on drums and the late Allen Woody on bass and contains many Mule covers played for the first time including The Black Crowes’ "Sometimes Salvation" and King Crimson’s "21st Century Schizoid Man." Blues legend Little Milton and The Black Crowes’ Audley Freed join Mule for a spirited second set that blazes into the wee hours of the new millennium.

"Friends seen and unseen, I find myself, again, trying to conjure up what to say about a show-in this case a memorable, dare I even say magical show. New Year’s shows, as everyone in Muleland knows, are very special to us. The show was never intended to be an official release but we knew it should be recorded and, thanks to our friend Doug Oade, it was. Finally after all this time we have re-mixed it and are happy to share it with you." – Warren Haynes

The collection was remixed and mastered from the original master tapes. <em>Mulennium</em> is out August 3 via Evil Teen.

Tracks are:

Disc 1:
1. Bad Little Doggie
2. Lay Your Burden Down
3. Blind Man In The Dark
4. Life Before Insanity
5. Larger Than Life
6. Towering Fool
7. Countdown Jam
8. 21st Century Schizoid Man
9. We’re Not Gonna Take It
10. Dazed And Confused

Disc 2:
1. When The Blues Comes Knockin’*
2. My Dog And Me
3. Lump On Your Stump *
4. I Can’t Quit You Baby *
5. It Hurts Me Too *
6. Blues Is Alright *
7. Is It My Body? **
8. Power Of Soul **

Disc 3:
1. Helter Skelter **
2. Sometimes Salvation **
3. 30 Days In The Hole ***
4. End Of The Line **
5. Out Of The Rain ****
6. I Shall Be Released *****
7. Simple Man ******
8. Crowd

*with Little Milton
**with Audley Freed
***with Audley Freed &amp; Robert Kearns
****with Audley Freed, Johnny Mosier &amp; Mark Van Allen
*****with Barry Richman, Robert Kearns, Johnny Mosier &amp; Mark Van Allen
****** with Audley Freed &amp; Mark Van Allen

Learn more at

No posts to display