Hasse Fröberg & the Musical Companion

Future Past
Reingold Records
Hasse Fröberg & the Musical Companion

Hasse Fröberg & the Musical Companion

Do you like Queen, Boston, and other purveyors of ’70s rock anthems? If so, check out the debut from singer/ guitarist Hasse Fröberg, who’s best known as co-vocalist for Sweden’s Flower Kings. Hasse (pronounced Hah-see) holds down the heavy rhythm riffs on his trademark Les Paul goldtop, while leadman Anton Lindsjö adds fretboard-scorching leads that bring to mind everyone from Michael Schenker to Slash to countryman Yngwie Malmsteen. There are also catchy harmony-guitar lines that sing in true ’70s style. But the stars of the show are Hasse’s big-ass guitar riffs and soaring tenor voice.

Cue up the 10-minute “Fallen Empire” for the kind of sing-along chorus that’s hard to get out of your head, yet it’s also full of prog-rock allusions galore, a nod to his 15 years singing in the Flower Kings. The metalish riffing that launches “Above” wouldn’t be out of place on a vintage Journey or Styx record, while “I Wouldn’t Change a Thing” has a great, Thin- Lizzy-inspired guitar harmony and Toto-fueled chorus. Sure, we all like earthy blues, country and bluegrass guitar playing, but every once in a while, you need to get in your car and crank up some serious heavy rock while cruising down the road. The new Hasse Fröberg record achieves that kind of radio-cranked, FM nirvana.

This article originally appeared in VG‘s Nov. ’08 issue. All copyrights are by the author and Vintage Guitar magazine. Unauthorized replication or use is strictly prohibited.

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.